Best Laid Plans

Happy November, everyone! Yes, that’s right. It’s not September anymore. It’s not even October. Somehow two months of time disappeared into the black hole that is the start of a new school year. I’ve been around long enough that I shouldn’t be surprised by this, yet this year in particular I find myself asking how on earth did I let this happen??? I am not currently teaching or marking, and my RA-in-lieu-of-TA has yet to commence (though I was finishing up an RA from the end of summer in the early days of October). I am not currently enrolled in any courses, attending any classes or seminars or the like. I am not currently conferencing, or organizing/coordinating much, save for the odd department social event here and there (welcome week events and all-things Halloween). I am not currently, nor was I tearing out my hair over the supremely dreaded grant application season, having been fortunate enough to secure federal funding for the next two years.

All of these things are true, and yet, November roared in like a lion (yes, I know I got that one wrong), and I find myself looking back agape at two months of no blog posts, and no dissertation pages. Which is not to say I’ve not been busy. The aforementioned RA was fairly time intensive, and pleasantly so; all of the research (especially cultural studies scholarship on the archive, everyday life and the project as it is realized by and through social media) conveniently overlapped with my own work. Not to mention, just the other week I was also able to submit an article to a peer-reviewed journal. And I’ve been–imagine it!–living up a life that was considerably less lived across much of the first half of this year. The truth is, I’ve actually been living (largely) guilt-free of late…until I checked in with this blog the other day and realized that my grand scheme to produce position paper blog entries on current social media news stories on a regular schedule kind of fell by the wayside. Alas! So…

In an attempt to make up for my extended absence, I will be blogging and tweeting (hopefully sometimes “live”) Thursday and Friday as I attend McMaster University’s Student Success Centre’s Social Media + Job Search Conference. The two-day conference claims it will help participants

  • Discover how to build relationships using social media tools
  • Develop strategies which build buzz and personal brand
  • Understand how social media can be used for advocacy
  • Discuss ideas about social recruiting, privacy and professionalism online
  • Develop the skills and strategies for job searching in today’s labour market.

Call it morbid curiosity, but I will be there. And I imagine I will have some things to say about what I “discover” there. Stay tuned…

~ by pamelaingleton on 6 November 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
