So, so long ago, and so far away

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: The Internet is the best thing.

(I obviously don’t mean this quite so unabashedly, but the net does have me quite giddy at the moment.)

Since somehow stumbling upon a research career on the WWW (I initially applied to do a PhD on Canadian authorship, yet now I embark on a dissertation on social media), I have often reflected on my own history of Internet usage, trying to recall when I first got online, my first online escapades, how the Internet “looked” “way back when,” and so on.

Today, a monumental discovery.

Having learned quite awhile ago of the “Wayback Machine” as part of the Internet Archive project, I, for quite some time, have been searching out snapshots of my first website: a Buffy the Vampire Slayer fansite initially created through The WB and later through “Acmecity” called, “Buffy Slayer Gal’s Entertainment Haven.” And for the first time ever this morning, my search warranted a hit.

Apparently (and I can’t even recall this), at some point my little site was honoured with an award from Movie-Page.com. This link was the only result of my search for “Buffyslayergal’s Entertainment Haven” (apparently I had failed to recall that little Pam would have felt impelled to separate out those words). From this listing, I was able to recall (what I believe to be) the last working URL of BSGEH, http://buffy.acmecity.com/minion/69 (The 69 was assigned. Just saying.)

And…Eureka! Apparently all this time I have been using inaccurate URLs to search for archived captures. But when I punched this little link into http://www.archive.org, lo…

My website was crawled a total of four times in its existence, producing one snapshot on each of the following dates: 12 July 2000, 27 October 2000, 20 February 2001, 21 April 2001.

Ah, but the Internet is a fickle friend. The Internet giveth, and the Internet taketh away. While I did sneak a peek at the third of the four links listed above, I foolishly jumped to another page before archiving the information myself, and now not one of the links will load. This seems to be a common problem with the Wayback Machine. Now all I can do is hope the linked content will reappear, so we can all read about 13 and 14 year old Pam online, and make fun of her together.

*Update* Now it’s showing only one archive for 28 April 2001, which also doesn’t load. This is not a very precise science, as it turns out.

*Update* 20 February is back! And it’s embarrassing. For your reading pleasure:

Buffy Slayer Gal’s Entertainment Haven
     
Over 500 people have visited this site!
 
Welcome to my webpage! Feel free to explore the pages and enjoy the site. If you are interested in your own BUFFY site, just click on the door at the bottom of the page. If you would like to know where any picture on this site came from, just email me. Most of the graphics are from Acmecity and the official site. See ya later!Also, if you have a birthday wish that you would like to send out, please email me with the name and the date and I will add it to my site! Just imagine the joy when your friend finds out he/she has gotten a birthday wish from such a prestigous site (Just Joking)!
 
Please Sign The Guestbook!!!
For all the local residents….
If you haven’t heard already it seems that the X-men movie is going to be filmed right here in Sudbury. If that’s not cool enough, it looks like maybe, just maybe, Sarah Michelle Gellar will be acting in it! Temporary plans have her playing the troubled Rogue. Other actors/actresses include Patrick Stewart, Russell Crowe, Angela Bassett, Julianne Moore and Edward Norton. The film is set to be shot in the summer in the Big Nickel Mine and Science North. More information to follow!
 
All About ME
I am fourteen years old from Canada. I am a huge Buffy fan and also enjoy the shows The Worst Witch, Charmed, PMK, and Dharma and Greg. My favourite movies are Titanic, Good Will Hunting, Field of Dreams, A Few Good Men, The Thin Red Line, Billy Madison, Empire Records, Outbreak, Godzilla, and Phenomenon. I love any music, except most rap (but I do like Will Smith). My hobbies include writing (I write for my school newspaper), figure skating, baseball and reading. I also enjoy singing and acting.
~ by pamelaingleton on 10 May 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
