Effectively ABD

And so begins a period of reflection and regrouping. Three weeks ago today I passed my comprehensive examination defense and, very soon, I will officially be ABD (the conclusion to a short and extremely straightforward bibliography course is all that stands in my way…more on that later).

Obviously my great scheme to blog the comps process sort of tanked, and for many reasons. For one, as I have said, once September picks up, there are only so many workable hours in a day, and those hours need be applied to reading and note-taking before they can ever be used to articulate budding brilliances in blog form. Which is not to say that, while writing the two examination papers, I didn’t often wish that I had blogged more, or at least written more (beyond summarizing) throughout the comps year, instead of leaving most of it to the end. It’s an easy thing to say now, but when newbie comps kids approach me in the coming months and ask whether or not they should try to write as much as possible while they read I will definitely be telling them to shoot for the moon (in other words, YES, write as soon as you can, even if the product of your efforts seems unworthy of the task).

Of course, there were other reasons my social media comps experiment dropped off. I was busy with the reading, but I was also busy with conferences, publications, teaching and applications. Living the deadline life means prioritization of tasks is always already determined by when they are due. It is difficult to put down a conference paper to be presented in a week for a comps paper to be submitted in a month or two. The comps taught me a lot about balancing multiple deadlines and assignments but, as it turns out, I still have a lot to learn.

While each of these reasons-for-not-doing-as-well-as-I-might-have are certainly accurate, the biggest challenge of the past few months had nothing to do with the several conferences I attended or the tutorials I had to prepare and the papers I had to mark. Sometimes we just…kind of…break. I would never presume that personal collapses are exclusive to academia, but the relation between high stress times and mental and emotional breakdowns is compelling. In the name of brevity and discretion, let’s just say I went through a “bad patch.” I don’t think the simultaneous occurrence of this difficulty and the comps examinations was a coincidence, but I stand by the assertion that the cause of it had nothing to do with comps. Fortunately for me I am part of an understanding and unfailingly supportive department willing to give me the time I needed to work through everything. As I understand it, this is not always the case. It’s nice to be on the other side of it now, though there remains residual considerations and lessons through which I will be working in the coming months.

Okay, enough about what I didn’t accomplish in this, my comps year. What about all of the things I did, and all of the things I learned? A year ago I had never attended an academic conference. I have since been to five. (A year ago I had never been outside Canada. I have since visited three states.) I have a better sense of my field now, not simply on paper, but in actuality, the day-to-day goings-on of academic scholarship. I have shared my work with discerning strangers; my ideas have been and are soon to be published. I have had, amidst months of seeming failures, a complement of successes. I’m just going to say it: in one short year, I’ve come a long way, baby.

Which brings me to now. What’s the plan for summer term? It remains in the works, but I think I’ve fairly certainly determined the bullet points. One: RELAX. I need to take some time off. Not off off, as it turns out; I still feel ready to work, just at a significantly reduced pace. I plan to work in some full-on vacation time, but I don’t foresee a full summer of it. There are many things to do and, perhaps surprisingly, I’m feeling fairly ready to do them.

Two: Get organized. Organize all of the stuff that has come and gone and organize all of the stuff still to come. I do not intend to begin serious “thesis work” until the fall. In the meantime, I want to formalize those vague lists floating around my head as to what I need to read and research before I can get down to writing (and do some of this reading, too). I would also like to prepare some kind of writing plan/schedule, so when “writing time” officially arrives, I’ll be ready(ish) for it.

Three: Send in some of those papers I’ve got kicking around for publication…and hope for the best. I’ve also begun preliminary work on a collaborative paper with a colleague. So far, so good, but I will reserve the dissemination of any details for a future time…when the work is further along…and hopefully still happening.

Four: Reassess my own social media involvements. Optimize them, if you will. And here’s where that bibliography course comes in. In order to pass the course, we are required to prepare a final presentation and paper on the topic of our own research databases and archives in order to answer the question of how bibliographical resources, archives, and communities relate to/enrich our dissertation projects (let’s be fair: an intensely, almost embarrassingly relevant question for my own project)? My own answer will be communicated across four blog entries (all available right here!) on the following topics:

1. Managing my online academic profile (on Academia.edu, our department website, etc.)
2. Evaluating my Twitter presence (what kinds of contacts can be made in this space, who to follow and stop following, etc.)
3. Improving my “academic” blogging practices (developing a reasonable blog schedule, preparing short “response papers” on current issues and news stories relevant to my research, etc.)
4. Optimizing my use of Google Alerts, Reader and Bookshelf

I am set to present on these topics in a week, and am off to Niagara Falls this weekend, so expect these entries to appear in the  near future.

~ by pamelaingleton on 9 May 2011.

25 Responses to “Effectively ABD”

  1. Wonderful web site. A lot of useful info here. I’m sending it to a
    few pals ans also sharing in delicious. And obviously, thanks in your effort!

  2. An outstanding share! I have just forwarded this
    onto a co-worker who has been conducting a little homework on this.
    And he in fact ordered me dinner simply because I found
    it for him… lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thanks for
    the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending time to talk about this subject here on your web site.

  3. Here is our Samsung Galaxy S guideline that will support you to get the most out of your phone.
    ” When the research final results pull up, tap the Weather Channel consequence. 5mm headphone jack and noise cancelling microphone, although the bottom houses the USB charger connector.

  4. Wonderful goods from you, man. I’ve take into accout
    your stuff previous to and you are simply extremely excellent.
    I really like what you have acquired right here, certainly like what you are stating and the way in which by which you assert it.
    You are making it entertaining and you still take
    care of to keep it wise. I can’t wait to learn far more from
    you. That is actually a great website.

  5. If you would like to take a great deal from this paragraph then you have to apply these methods to your won webpage.

  6. What’s up everyone, it’s my first visit at this
    web site, and post is really fruitful designed for me, keep up posting such articles.

  7. Undeniably believe that which you said. Your favorite justification appeared to be on the net the simplest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I definitely get irked while people consider worries that they plainly don’t know about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side-effects
    , people could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more.
    Thanks

  8. I used to be suggested this web site by means of my cousin. I’m now not certain whether or
    not this put up is written by him as no one else realize
    such special approximately my problem. You are incredible!

    Thank you!

  9. Perhaps you’ll be able to play one of several Top 10 Board Games tonight.
    Although I believe Blizzard had far more selfish motive (limit in capabilities
    resulted in players must cooperate thereby – more players), the result is
    the same. If you happen to be spending added time using your gaming system than your girl,
    your relationship is walking thin ice. There are, needless to say, several
    other programs and techniques specifically directed
    at cultivating creativity and strategic thinking. There are software developers developing these games who have a considerable ways within this career,
    you can find gaming magazines so people enthusiastic about gaming media can have
    a very promising career here. Once your quality of life is be able to zero you then’ll definitely through your case as well as your foe.
    Crusader kings one originally put together by other company and was only taken on by paradox entertainment after they went bankrupt.
    Create three columns on the paper and write the numbers 0 to 9 about the first column.
    In turn based strategy games players often make very planned long
    and deliberate decisions. The trick is that you are able to attack your opponent
    and your assailant can attack you at any time so there is absolutely no telling once you will need to get
    properly prepared for battle. This relates to
    every game niche out there, from role winning contests to strategy games, from puzzle games to arcade games,
    even computer card games. There are games in which you need to find the right path from
    a locked room by seeking clues and putting them together,
    and games where you must stack objects correctly before time runs out.
    And, thanks on the master storytelling of Martin, you’re feeling it as being justified.
    Underneath you can see point by point data concerning the Clash of Lords 2 Cheats, the way it obliges and also a lttle bit proof
    picture. Gulugufe is truly some of those rare and unique board games played by millions but
    known to only a few. Unfortunately, early literature about this subject is
    limited. The sheer draw of free online flash games has became no grow old or sexual category barriers.
    Furthermore, there are some gaming websites which can be
    geared to offering a wide range of games in nearly all genre.
    It reminds me of the silly and really fun games in the my childhood.
    There are many advantages of playing free-to-play strategy
    games. We know they may be effective since they have been helping students at STRONG
    Learning Centers. There are very different alien civilizations to
    learn against, such as evil Yor Collective, the “neutral” Arcean Empire along with the dangerous Drengin Empire.
    Games are an engaged way of entertainment providing you with relaxation and diversion. Total war games after Rome total war were known because of their
    highly realistic 3D battles which combined while using greater freedom to move changed the
    Total war series coming from a quantity of good games into a series containing several great games.
    With offices in Somerset, they give attention to delivering supreme chess merchandise from abroad, including Europe and India, to consumers.

  10. Laurie’s new found success in reserve games quickly persuaded he manager to get him back
    into the club team as well as the national manager started
    to notice how easy Laurie made the skill of goal scoring.
    What good is becoming ahead whether or not this needs
    a Masters’ Degree or possibly a 20-year-internship or a suit that we’ve to constantly polish and look the
    oil on. Other superhero gadgets required training or vast amounts of dollars or scientific know-how.
    Critics, however, reject the idea to what left-wing ideologue.
    “No man cannot become rich without enriching others,” revealed
    Carnegie. On the contrary, he believes how the rich will end up richer and everyone else may have
    almost zero potential for catching up. Are You Playing “Let’s Make a Deal” with Your Life.
    And the smtp mail server software can be used for business and charity purpose.
    Also read articles in your favorite classic comic book heroes written by our resident historian VIRGIL THE STORYTELLER.
    Such effective and reliable Find a Person Canada databases usually have
    close to half a billion people in its listing, and you will therefore be assured which you can find what exactly you want.
    This article could possibly be freely distributed
    if this type of authors resource box stays attached. Majesty 2 can be a fantastic game which offers a twist around the
    real-time strategy genre. Since I have been home I feel just as
    if I am in that deeply meditative state all the time – yes ALL the
    time. When beginning to find people in Canada via the Internet, you should be equipped.
    The original Half-Life game was always going to get challenging to
    eclipse after Freeman’s nerve racking escape from Black Mesa.
    Once in the ice becomes weak, then players may use this with their drainage to quickly dispatch
    units who fall through damage ice using a little bit of urging
    off their weapons. They say that this products for that most work within the way they say
    they’ll and that on top of that they taste good. Company
    of Heroes: Tales of Valor is one from the best multiplayer WWII experiences available,
    great for strategy fans and fps gamers who need a break from Battlefield, Call of Duty,
    Band of Brothers and other WWII shooters, but need to stay within the period.
    Would he be better off hooking his green i – Pod into his green computer and willing the ring to download them legally.
    In any conflict the ego accumulates its own virtues and justifications and measures
    them against the sum from the faults of others. A report on literary history around the globe
    shows that European literature is likely to focus on stories by which old women eat children. The a very important
    factor we hear over and over again about Obama is always that, when you are done conversing with him,
    you will get the impression that even when he didn’t go along with you, that he understood you.

    In this state our actions are motivated by fear, rather than care and concern for others.
    This article will be devoted for the pros of the Honor System and the cons with the
    Token system. John’s Wort, Valerian, and Yarrow (A sacred herb used like a love charm and one in the famous herbs of the “Lancashire Witches”).

  11. We’re a bunch of volunteers and starting a brand new scheme in our community.
    Your site offered us with valuable information to work on. You’ve done an impressive activity and our whole community might be thankful to you.

  12. With havin so much content do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright
    infringement? My site has a lot of unique content I’ve either created myself
    or outsourced but it appears a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my permission. Do you know any
    methods to help stop content from being ripped
    off? I’d truly appreciate it.

  13. Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having a tpugh time
    locating itt but, I’d like to send you an e-mail.
    I’ve got some suggestions for your blog you might bbe interested
    in hearing. Either way, great website aand I look forward to seeing
    it grow over time.

  14. Its not my first time to go to see this web page, i am visiting this web page dailly
    and obtain nice data from here everyday.

  15. Heya! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone!
    Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts!
    Carry on the excellent work!

  16. Good day! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering
    if you knew where I could find a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having problems finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

  17. Do you have a spam issue on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was wondering your situation; many of
    us have developed some nice procedures and we are
    looking to trade strategies with others, be sure to shoot
    me an email if interested.

  18. Howdy just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a few of the pictures aren’t loading properly.
    I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different web browsers and both show the same
    outcome.

  19. After checking out a number of the blog articles on your website,
    I truly appreciate your technique off blogging. I bookmarked it
    to my bookmark website list and will bee checking back iin the near
    future. Please check out my website as well and tell me how
    you feel.

  20. My brother suggested I might like this web site. He was
    totally right. This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine simply
    how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  21. What’s up, after reading this remarkable piece of writing i am as well glad to share my
    familiarity here with mates.

  22. No matter if some one searches for his vital thing, so he/she wants to be available that in detail,
    so that thing is maintained over here.

  23. I read this article completely concerning the difference of newest and earlier technologies, it’s awesome article.

  24. I will immediately take holkd of your rss as I can not
    find your e-mail subscription hyperlink or newsletter service.
    Do you hae any? Kindly permit me understand so that I could
    subscribe. Thanks.

  25. Some folks opt to appeal towards the choice to show them down so they can have one other chance of qualifying for these loans.

Leave a Reply

 
